SAPERE AUDE!

Dare to know.

Confession #1.

I’m a sucker for YA novels.  I’m an even bigger sucker for romantic YA novels with love triangles and angsty teenagers.

So when I woke up this past Saturday morning, welcoming any kind of distraction from cleaning my apartment, I picked up my Kindle and started reading this highly-rated book (and just so happened to be $2.99)–Inescapable (The Premonition, #1) by Amy A. Bartol.

9.5 hours later (I had crazy cramps all of Saturday, so I had another reason to be in bed!), and after much persistence from my roommate, I got up, took a shower, and went grocery-shopping.  Of course, I finished the book before I left the house–there was no way in hell I was gonna leave at 92%!

Throughout that 9.5 hours, I laughed, cried, giggled, and SMH-ed to the events that unfolded in Bartol’s book.  To say that I enjoyed myself would be an understatement–I was hooked.

I’ll admit, there was nothing extremely ground-breaking with the plot.  Rest assured, Jane Austen and Bronte sisters, I don’t think this was particularly revolutionary–your place in literature is safe.  There were, however, some very interesting aspects that I hope the author gets into more in the next books.  For example, [SPOILER] the idea that there are different hierarchies in God’s angels (Seraphim–the highest order of Angels (God’s guardians); red wings.  Power–“created to prevent the Fallen from taking over the world and to keep the universe in balance”.  Reaper–angels of death; brings souls to Heaven and Hell; butterfly, ladybug, beetle, dragonfly wings.  Archangels.  Thrones.  Virtues.  Cherubim.).  And the whole idea of fallen angels and half-angel half-humans.  Super interesting.  It reminded me of the few times my sister had mentioned Milton’s Paradise Lost back when I was in high school.  (I never read Paradise Lost; not too big on poetry.)

And then there’s the love story.  The battle between soul mate and true love.  The idea that the protagonist (Evie) has been reincarnated several times throughout the world’s existence and that she ends up with her soul mate (Russell) every time.  Every time except this time…because this time, she has been reincarnated as a half-human half-angel.  Russell gives her a sense of home, and it’s almost familial.   She feels a strong connection to Russell, strong to the point that it seems almost a struggle to convince herself that she wants someone else.  And that someone else?  A Power angel by night; Reed Wellington star lacrosse player, eye of every girl on campus by day.

I think it’s fairly obvious who she ends up, even though I’ve only read the first book.  But that’s another great thing about this story–it’s not exactly a love triangle.  It’s a choice.  And she chooses Reed.

I like the idea that there isn’t much of a disconnect between the heart and the mind in this book.  Yes, Evie feels incredibly jealous when she sees Russell with someone else.  Yes, she initially feels a tingle when Russell finally kisses her.  But in the end, and even as the Russell kiss is happening, she knows that she loves Reed; he’s the one she can’t live without.  And I respect that.

So here’s my little commentary on life as I know it, reinforced by the Reed/Evie/Russell situation:

I think people overlook the importance of choice when it comes to love.  I’ve always believed that although the saying “I can’t help how I feel” has truth to a certain extent, there is also a conscious choice that is initially made to ultimately lead to a particular event.

Maybe this way of thinking is just my ploy to not chuck everything up to emotion and perhaps help rationalize an otherwise irrational feeling.  Or maybe it’s just my incessant need to be responsible for every aspect of my life–leaving nothing to excuses or misfortune or feeling.

Either way, Evie’s next adventure is definitely something I look forward to with anticipation.

1 Comment»

  Mr WordPress wrote @

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.


Leave a Reply

